Sales Lessons For A Successful Life

I have always heard many of the most successful entrepreneurs and businesspeople speak about how sales are the most important skill you can develop if you want to be successful. In my brief stint in a sales position, I have already learned  many valuable sales lessons that carry over to other areas of life.

Many people have negative stereotypical images of greasy car salesman or other negative connotations with the position . Many people try to avoid this role at all costs instead of embracing it for what it really is.

No matter what you do in life selling will always be key. You will always be involved in some sort of situations that involve persuasion, negotiation, convincing others and ultimately selling. Whether it is convincing co-workers of an idea, getting a promotion, convincing someone to go on a date with you. No matter the situation these skills are involved and carry over into all aspects of your life!

These are some valuable things I have learned in sales so far that have greatly helped in my personal development and have helped to groom me for future entrepreneurial ventures. I want to share these with you so you can see how these valuable lessons carry over to other areas of life

Failure/Rejection and the fear of these things

If you are scared to fail, you will miss out on many great opportunities to prospect new clients, build rapport and eventually close deals. If you are too scared to approach people in the first place, you never know what kind of things you could potentially be missing out on. For example, there was an account I wanted to follow up on that my associate had previously worked on.

failure

He said that the decision maker liked the service but he had trouble closing the deal. I didn’t want to ruin my chance of potentially closing this account so I avoided it for awhile. After studying and preparing myself for awhile I eventually showed up and after first being rejected, I ended up making the sale. I could have avoided that all summer and never have made that transaction

How it applies everywhere

If you are scared to take the plunge and break outside of your comfort zone or fully commit to something, you will never be great at anything. I know that sounds harsh but the people who create the greatest success never achieve that by playing it safe. They take calculated risks and they trust their gut instincts and believe in themselves. If you want to achieve something, you need to approach the situations thinking of a successful end result. If you only think about the failure then failure is what you are bound to achieve.

If you don’t fear the failure, you will live a much more fulfilling life. Creating many more great memories, experiences, friendships and enhance all areas of your life in general. If you believe in yourself from the beginning, you will eventually achieve your goals. If you fear failure from the start, you will never get off the ground.

A very powerful question to ask yourself is “what would I be doing with my life if I knew I couldn’t fail?” This is probably a good start and passion is key. Don’t fear failure or rejection and always be ready to jump on opportunities.

To continue reading head to our full site:

http://www.simplisticsuccess.com

 

2 thoughts on “Sales Lessons For A Successful Life”

  1. That was an excellent way of putting it, the way you linked it to life in general as a skill and not a job alone. Do you have an email so I can talk to you more about entrepreneurship.
    & “What would I do with my life if I knew I couldn’t fail?”
    What great question.

    Like

Leave a Reply

